

Minutes of the Meeting of the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE Tuesday, March 22, 2016 Bowman Hall, Room 217

Trustees in attendance:

Lisa Chamberlain, Chair Mohan Boodram (via phone)

Others present:

Dr. James Birge, President Cynthia Brown, Vice President of Academic Affairs Monica Joslin, Dean of Academic Affairs Ginger Menard, Clerk

The meeting was called to order at 8:58 a.m. The agenda is to review faculty personnel items including recommendations for tenure, promotion, and reappointment. Dean Joslin provided an evaluation and recommendation for all faculty put forth and Vice President Brown concurred with her recommendations.

Tenure Recommendations

Vice President Brown presented background on the faculty seeking tenure. Under the MSCA Agreement faculty can apply early, though they must apply by their sixth year of service if in a tenure-track position. Three faculty being advanced today are seeking appointment a year early. This is allowable under the contract for those who make an exceptional contribution to the College or their discipline.

The committee reviewed the tenure recommendations for the following:

- Elizabeth "Liz" Hartung, Assistant Professor of Mathematics Mathematics Department
- Laura Standley, Assistant Professor of Theatre Fine and Performing Arts Department
- Nick Stroud, Assistant Professor of Education Education Department
- Benjamin "Ben" Wood, Assistant Professor of Psychology Psychology Department

Professors Hartung, Stroud, and Wood are seeking tenure one year early. The Committee on Tenure, the respective Department Chairs, and the Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs all agree that they have made exceptional contributions as required for an early appointment.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, it was

VOTED unanimously to recommend tenure for Elizabeth Hartung, Laura Standley, Nick Stroud, and Benjamin Wood.

Trustee Chamberlain suggested that these faculty members be invited to the April 7 Board meeting at which time the full Board will vote to approve the recommendation of the Academic Affairs Committee for tenure.

Promotions

As with tenure, promotion recommendations are based on a portfolio review conducted by the Committee on Promotion, separate from the Committee on Tenure. Promotion does not require a vote by the Board of Trustees.

Each promotional rank has a requirement regarding level of education and years of experience. Three faculty are applying early for promotion under the exceptional clause. They are Professors Hartung, Stroud, and Wood.

Dean Joslin has recommended and Vice President Brown has approved the following faculty for promotion:

Full Professor

• Christopher Thomas, Mathematics Department

Associate Professor/Librarian

- Pamela Contakos, Digital Services Librarian
- Elizabeth "Liz" Hartung, Mathematics Department
- Rita Nnodim, Philosophy, Modern Language, Interdisciplinary Studies Department
- Nick Stroud, Education Department
- Ben Wood, Psychology Department

Reappointments

Through the annual reappointment process faculty are evaluated through a full portfolio of work along with evaluations during their second and fourth years of service. In the third and fifth years department Chairs provide evaluations along with student evaluations (SIRII). Reappointment does not require a vote by the Board of Trustees.

Dean Joslin has recommended and Vice President Brown has approved the following faculty for fifth, fourth, and third year reappointments.

Fifth Year

- Pamela Contakos, Digital Services Librarian
- Justin Golub, Assistant Professor Biology Department
- Ryan Krzyzanowicz, Assistant Professor Athletic Training Biology Department

Fourth Year

- Mariana Bolivar, Assistant Professor of Modern Lanaguages, Spanish Philosophy, Modern Languages, Interdisciplinary Studies Department
- Karen Cardozo, Assistant Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies Philosophy, Modern Languages, Interdisciplinary Studies Department
- Carolyn Dehner, Assistant Professor Chemistry Department
- David Zachary "Zack" Finch, Assistant Professor of English English/Communications Department

Third Year

- Sarah Herrick, Assistant Professor Biology Department
- Kerri Nicoll, Assistant Professor Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work Department
- Jenna Sciuto, Assistant Professor English/Communications Department
- Diane Scott, Assistant Professor of Arts Management Fine and Performing Arts Department
- Thomas Whalen, Assistant Professor Business Administration Department

Summaries of the recommendations for tenure, promotions, and reappointments will be provided to the full Board in advance of the April 7 meeting.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the committee the meeting was adjourned at 10:08 a.m.