

Minutes of the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING Thursday, December 10, 2015 Murdock 218

The following Trustees were present:

Tyler Fairbank, Chair

Will Dudley, Vice Chair

Mohan Boodram

Lisa Chamberlain

JD Chesloff, via teleconference

Shirley Edgerton

Susan Gold

Buffy Lord

Denise Marshall

Nicholas Hernigle, Student Trustee

Executive Staff present:

Jim Clemmer, Interim President

Denise Richardello, Executive Vice President

Bernadette Alden, Director of Marketing and Communications

Cynthia Brown, Vice President of Academic Affairs

Marianne Drake, Chief Advancement Officer and President, MCLA Foundation Inc.

Cathy Holbrook, Vice President of Student Affairs

Monica Joslin, Dean of Academic Affairs

Ginger Menard, Clerk

Others Present:

Faculty, staff, students

Complying with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 30 and 15A, Section 9, and with a quorum present, the Board of Trustees of Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts met at 5:00 p.m. at Murdock Hall on December 10, 2015 with Board Chair Fairbank presiding.

Chair Fairbank called the meeting to order at 4:59 p.m.

He then provided an overview of the Presidential Search noting that the process adhered to the guidelines set forth by the Board of Higher Education (BHE). MCLA engaged David Mead-Fox of Korn Ferry as the consultant for the search.

The candidate slate presented to the Search Committee on October 15th comprised 17 candidates who were fully vetted by Korn Ferry and who have held senior administrative leadership positions in institutions where the Liberal Arts is critical for student success and community enrichment. As a result of the above research efforts, 178 prospects were approached and considered.

Of the 17 candidates presented, 11 were selected by the Search Committee to move forward with first-round interviews on October 22nd, 23rd, 24th and 25th. One candidate withdrew just before the first-round interviews so ten were interviewed and five were invited to campus.

Five finalists were invited to participate in an open interview process on campus. Following these campus visits the Board received 249 survey responses.

At the Executive Committee on December 3^{rd} the Board voted to advance two finalists, Dr. James F. Birge and Dr. S. Alan Ray.

Chair Fairbank extended his thanks to Korn Ferry and David Mead-Fox and to the Department of Higher Education Commissioner Carlos Santiago for his assistance and counsel. He thanked the members of the search committee for their dedication and efforts especially Co-Chairs and Trustees Susan Gold and Mohan Boodram for facilitating the process. He expressed his gratitude as well to the entire Board their thoughtfulness and their commitment throughout this entire process.

Interim President Clemmer offered his thanks to the Board as well for their diligence and shared his perspective having served in role of interim president since August in addition to being an Alumnus and former Trustee. Given the exceptional quality of the faculty, staff, and students the College needs a leader with bold vision who is able to continue the forward momentum.

Each Trustee then shared feedback on each of the final two candidates including the strengths they would bring to the position and who they believe would best lead MCLA at this time.

Chair Fairbank then requested a motion to nominate Dr. S. Alan Ray as the next President of MCLA. The motion was made and seconded.

Chair Fairbank then requested a motion to nominate Dr. James F. Birge as the next President of MCLA. The motion was made and seconded.

With motions being forwarded and seconded for both candidates, Chair Fairbank requested a roll call vote wherein each Trustee puts forward the name of his or her recommended candidate. The results of the roll call vote were as follows:

```
Trustee Hernigle – Dr. Birge
Trustee Boodram – Dr. Birge
Trustee Chamberlain – Dr. Birge
Trustee Chesloff – Dr. Birge
Trustee Dudley – Dr. Birge
Trustee Edgerton – Dr. Ray
Trustee Gold – Dr. Birge
Trustee Lord – Dr. Ray
Trustee Marshall – Dr. Birge
Chair Fairbank – Dr. Birge
```

Chair Fairbank reported that though there is support for both candidates and both are highly qualified and exceptional leaders, Dr. Birge received the majority of nominations. He then requested a motion to advance the nomination of Dr. Birge to the Board of Higher Education.

A Motion to approve the appointment of Dr. James F. Birge as the 12th president of MCLA was put forwarded and seconded.

The Board Clerk took a yay or nay roll call vote in support of this motion and the results of the vote were as follows:

```
Trustee Hernigle – yay
Trustee Boodram – yay
Trustee Chamberlain – yay
Trustee Chesloff – yay
Trustee Dudley – yay
Trustee Edgerton – yay
Trustee Gold – yay
Trustee Lord – yay
Trustee Marshall – yay
Chair Fairbank – yay
```

Chair Fairbank thanked the Board, Faculty, Staff, and Students in attendance. He noted that it is important that everyone stand together to support our next president as we can honor any differing views while rallying around our mission.

There being no further business to come before the Board the meeting was adjourned at 5:29 p.m.