

# Minutes of the Meeting of the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE Wednesday, March 21, 2018 87 Blackinton

### Committee members in attendance:

Lisa Chamberlain, Chair Frederick Keator Kathy Therrien

### **Others present:**

Susan Gold, Board Chair James F. Birge, President Cynthia Brown, Vice President of Academic Affairs Monica Joslin, Dean of Academic Affairs Shawn McIntosh, Assistant Professor, English/Communications Mitchell Chapman, Student Trustee Ginger Menard, Clerk

Trustee Chamberlain called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m.

## New Communications major

Asst. Prof. McIntosh shared plans regarding the establishment of a Communications major. Currently, students who wish to focus on Communications receive a bachelor of Arts in English with a concentration in Communications. The establishment of this new major is in response to students interested in a stronger focus on studying broadcast and journalism and was vetted through focus groups involving all students in that department. This new major will provide more opportunity for selective crossover by students in their studies.

McIntosh also shared that Communications as a major is one of the fastest growing programs nationally and the #1 skill that employers are looking for is communication skills. The goal is to prepare students for the changing media and broadcast landscape by providing a comprehensive liberal arts background along with an understanding of the dynamics and trends behind technology. The importance of writing will also be stressed in the Communications major. In addition to the Communications major a concentration in Digital Media Innovation has been added as well which will include courses in digital production and management.

Dean Joslin reviewed the process necessary to have a new major approved by the Board of Higher Education. The next step in the process is to have two peer reviewers evaluate the College's proposal. The goal is to have the new major voted on at the June Board of Higher Education meeting.

### Faculty Reappointments/Promotions/Tenure

Vice President Brown reminded the committee that reappointment and promotion are discussion items and only tenure requires a vote to advance the names to the full Board meeting on April 5. The requirements for each step are designated in the faculty contract with the Massachusetts State College Association (MSCA).

Reappointments are required each year until the sixth year when faculty must apply for tenure. Faculty can apply for tenure early, before their sixth year of service. There is also an option for early promotion based on the so-called exceptional clause, and this option applies to Prof. Justin Golub who is seeking promotion to Associate Professor as well as applying for tenure.

The committee reviewed the list of faculty for reappointment and had no questions. The following faculty have been recommended to the President for fifth, fourth, third, and second year reappointments.

<u>Reappointment to a 5th<sup>th</sup> year</u> Kerri Nicoll, Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work – Social Work Jenna Sciuto, English/Communications

<u>Reappointment to a 4<sup>th</sup> year</u> David Cupery, History, Political Science and Public Policy - Public Policy Shawn McIntosh, English/Communications Ruby Vega, Psychology Kebra Ward, Physics

<u>Reappointment to a 3<sup>rd</sup> year</u> Eric Doucette, Biology Anna Jaysane-Darr, Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work - Anthropology Erin Kiley, Mathematics Chali Nondo, Business Administration Samantha Pettey, History, Political Science and Public Policy - Political Science

<u>Reappointment to a 2<sup>nd</sup> year</u> Tara Barboza, Business Administration George Hamaoui, Biology Hannah Noel, English/Communications Victoria Papa, English/Communications Nicole Porther, Biology - Community Health Education The committee then reviewed the list of faculty for promotions and had no questions. The following faculty have been recommended to the President for promotion:

<u>Promotion to Full Professor</u> Ann Billetz, Biology Sharon Claffey, Psychology Michael Dilthey, Fine and Performing Arts – Music Dale Fink, Education Melanie Mowinski, Fine and Performing Arts – Art Elena Traister, Environmental Studies

Promotion to Associate Professor Justin Golub, Biology

VP Brown provided a summary of the four professors applying for reappointment with tenure, and noted that the Committee on Tenure strongly supports all four of these applicants.

Trustee Chamberlain shared that it was very helpful to have met these individuals and heard about their work at previous Academic Affairs Committee meetings. As the annual tenure vote is an important component of the committee's work, those opportunities to interact with faculty are very important.

VP Brown also reminded the committee that faculty who meet the minimum requirements in service and time at rank, can apply for tenure with automatic promotion rather than having to go through each process separately. Professors Amber Engelson and Diane Scott among this year's applicants meet these criteria, so that a vote to reappoint them with tenure will also result in their promotion to Associate Professor.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, it was

**VOTED** Unanimously to recommend reappointment with tenure for Mariana Bolivar, Amber Engelson, Justin Golub, and Diane Scott

Trustee Chamberlain asked that these professors be introduced to the Board at the April 5 meeting in advance of the vote to approve their reappointment with tenure.

### Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the committee the meeting was adjourned at 9:29 a.m.